Our Work

2018 Elections

The Iowa Bicycling Action Fund is carefully monitoring the legislative district races in the 2018 election.  The future legislators control budgets for bicycling infrastructure and passage of policy issues relating to bicycling.

It is crucial for Iowa bicyclists to get involved – either by fundraising for candidates, delivering yard signs by bike, or by simply registering to vote and voting.

2018 Iowa Senate Races

There are 25 races for the Iowa Senate that will be decided in the 2018 election. Democrats are fielding candidates in all but two of the races and Republicans are fielding all but six races, totaling eight unopposed races. Libertarians fielded two candidates. Eight races feature non-incumbent candidates on both sides.

District Democrat Inc Republican Inc Other Unopposed Transpo Approps
1 No candidate Zach Whiting Yes
3 Dave Dawson Jim Carlin I Yes
5 John O’Brien Tim Kraayenbrink I Yes Yes
7 Jackie Smith Steven Stokes
9 No candidate Jason Schultz I Yes
11 Sara Ramsey Tom Shipley I Yes
13 Vicky Brenner Julian B. Garrett I Yes
15 Chaz Allen I Tim Shay
17 Tony Bisignano I No candidate Yes Yes
19 Amber Gustafson Jack Whitver I
21 Claire Celsi Brian Bales
23 Herman Quirmbach I No candidate Eric Cooper (L) Yes
25 Tracy Freese Annette Sweeney
27 Amanda Ragan I Shannon Latham Yes
29 Tod Bowman I Carrie Koelker Ranking
31 William Dotzler I No candidate Yes Yes
33 Robert Hogg I Edward Hayes
35 Todd Taylor No candidate Yes
37 Zach Wahls No candidate Carl Krambeck (L) Yes
39 Kevin Kinney I Heather Hora
41 Mary Stewart Mariannette Miller-Meeks
43 Joe Bolkcom I Patrick Wronkiewicz Ranking
45 Jim Lykam I No candidate Yes Yes
47 Marie Gleason Roby Smith I Yes
49 Patti Robinson Chris Cournoyer

Iowa House Races

There are 100 races for Iowa House seats. 29 of the races are unopposed. Democrats are not fielding candidates in 5 districts and Republicans are not putting candidates in 26 districts.  7 third party candidates are running. Thirty-seven Democrats and 46 Republican incumbents are vying to return to their positions, leaving 17 races featuring non-incumbent candidates.

District Democrat Inc. Republican Inc. Other Unopposed Transportation Approps
1 Karen Larson John H. Wills I Yes
2 Ryan Odor Megan Jones I
3 No candidate Daniel Huseman I Yes Yes Yes
4 No candidate Skyler Wheeler I Yes
5 Andrew Emanuel Thomas Jeneary
6 Rita DeJong Jacob Bossman I
7 Debra Jensen Tedd Gassman I
8 Connie Price Terry Baxter I
9 Megan Srinivas Ann Meyer
10 Jake Thompson Mike Sexton I Yes
11 No candidate Gary Worthan I Yes Yes Yes
12 Peter Leo Brian Best I Yes Yes
13 Chris Hall I No candidate Yes Yes
14 Timothy Kacena I Robert Henderson
15 Charlie McConkey I LeAnn Hughes
16 Steve Gorman Mary Ann Hanusa I
17 Jan Creasman Matt Windschitl I
18 No candidate Steven Holt I Yes
19 Gregg Gustafson Chris Hagenow
20 Warren Varley Ray Sorensen
21 Denise O’Brien Tom Moore I
22 Ray Stevens Jon Jacobsen I
23 Chuck Larson David Sieck I Yes
24 James Uhlenkamp Cecil Dolecheck I Yes
25 Ryan Marquardt Stan Gustafson I
26 Scott Ourth I Rebel Snodgrass Yes
27 Richard Foster Joel Fry I
28 Ann Fields Jon Thorup
29 Wesley Breckenridge I Ann Howell Yes
30 Kent Balduchi Zach Nunn I
31 Rick Olson I No candidate Yes Yes
32 Ruth Ann Gaines I William Charlier
33 Brian Meyer I No candidate Yes
34 Bruce Hunter I No candidate Marrianna Collins (L)
35 Ako Abdul-Samad I No candidate Yes
36 Marti Anderson I No candidate Yes
37 Andrew Rasmussen John Landon I Yes Yes
38 Heather Matson Kevin Koester I
39 Karin Derry Jake Highfill I Yes
40 John Forbes I No candidate Yes Ranking
41 Jo Oldson I No candidate Yes Yes
42 Kristin Sunde Peter Cownie I
43 Jennifer Konfrst Michael Boal
44 Kenan Judge Anna Bergman
45 Beth Wessel-Kroeschell I Ben Brown
46 Lisa Heddens I No candidate Yes Yes Yes
47 David Weaver Phil Thompson Patrick Shaw (L)
48 Tim Winter Robert Bacon I Yes
49 Brenda Brink Dave Deyoe I John Evans (L) Yes
50 Dennis Evans Pat Grassley I Yes
51 Tim Knutson Jane Bloomingdale I
52 Todd Prichard I No candidate Yes
53 Sharon Steckman I No candidate Yes
54 No candidate Linda Upmeyer I Yes
55 Kayla Koether Michael Bergan I
56 Lori Egan No candidate Yes
57 Nancy Fett Shannon Lundgren I Lucas Link (L)
58 Joe Oclon Andy McKean I
59 Bob Kressig I No candidate Yes
60 Dave Williams Walt Rogers I Yes
61 Timi Brown-Powers I No candidate Yes Yes
62 Ras Smith I No candidate Yes Yes
63 Eric Stromberg Sandy Salmon I
64 Bruce Bearinger I No candidate Yes Yes
65 Liz Bennett I George Olmsted
66 Art Staed I Teresa Daubitz
67 Eric Gjerde Ashley Hinson I Yes Yes
68 Molly Donahue Randy Ray
69 Kirsten Running-Marquardt I No candidate Yes Yes
70 Tracy Ehlert No candidate Yes
71 Mark Smith I James Perez
72 Mindy Benson Dean Fisher I Yes
73 Jodi Clemens Bobby Kaufmann I
74 David Jacoby I No candidate Yes
75 Paula Denison Thomas Gerhold John George (L)
76 Ann Egley David Maxwell I Vice Chair
77 Amy Nielsen I No candidate Yes Yes
78 Kimberly Davis Jarad Klein I
79 Samantha Keith Dustin Hite Nicholas Ryan (L)
80 Susan McDanel Holly Brink
81 Mary Gaskill I Cherielynn Westrich
82 Phil Miller I No candidate Yes Yes
83 Jeff Kurtz Jeffrey Reichman
84 Jason Moats Joe Mitchell
85 Vicki Lensing I No candidate Yes
86 Mary Mascher I No candidate Yes
87 Dennis Cohoon I Tim Goodwin Yes
88 Lanny Hillyard David Kerr I
89 Monica Hosch Kurth I No candidate Yes
90 Cindy Winckler I No candidate Yes Yes
91 Laura Liegois Gary Carlson I Chair
92 Jean Simpson Ross C. Paustian I
93 Phyllis Thede I No candidate Yes Yes
94 Joan Marttila Gary Mohr I Yes
95 Christian Andrews Louis Zumbach I
96 Reenie Montgomery Lee Hein I
97 Tim McClimon Norlin Mommsen I David Melchert Jr. (L) Yes
98 Mary Lynn Wolfe I Reese Petersen
99 Lindsay James Pauline Chilton
100 Charles Isenhart I Hank Linden